160 candidates in the fray finally for 7 Delhi seats

Apr 23rd, 2009 | By editor | Category: In News, The Delhi Beat

Delhi’s Chief Electoral Officer Satbir Silas Bedi addressing a press conference on Wednesday. - Photo: Shiv Kumar Pushpakar

Staff Reporter

NEW DELHI: A total of 160 candidates are in the fray for the upcoming Lok Sabha polls for the seven seats from Delhi with six candidates pulling out of the race on Wednesday, the last date for withdrawal of nominations.

“Six candidates, including three independents, have withdrawn their nominations. The highest number of 41 candidates are contesting from the Chandni Chowk parliamentary constituency, followed by New Delhi (40), East Delhi (17), North-East Delhi (16), North-West Delhi (16), West Delhi (15) and South Delhi (15),” said Delhi’s Chief Electoral Officer Satbir Silas Bedi at a press conference on Wednesday.

Those who have withdrawn their nominations are Dipak Bansal of the Jai Bharat Party (Chandni Chowk); Shishpal Singh of the Lok Nayak Party and independent Raju Gupta (both North-East); independents Ombir Singh and Suman Chandela (West Delhi) and Ritu Srivastava of the Bharat Udaya Mission (South Delhi).

A total of 222 nominations had been received for the seven Lok Sabha seats from the Capital by April 18, the last date for filing of papers. Of these, 56 nominations were cancelled on April 20 during scrutiny of papers. The New Delhi parliamentary constituency saw cancellation of the highest number of nominations at 16, followed by North-East Delhi (13), West Delhi (9), East Delhi (6), North-West Delhi (6), South Delhi (4) and Chandni Chowk (2).

For the Delhi Assembly by-election from Rohtas Nagar constituency, a total of eight candidates are left in the fray finally. Eleven nominations were received for the seat, which fell vacant following the death of former Delhi Pradesh Congress Committee president Ram Babu Sharma. Three nominations were rejected during scrutiny.

Leave Comment